Diabetes & Health

More About that Diabetes

Hi Everyone! Today I will be sharing part 2 of my Type 1 Diabetes diagnoses story. Hope you all had a wonderful weekend!

The next five days and four nights after my dad arrived were spent in the ICU. Everything seemed manageable until my diabetes educator was showing me how to figure out how many units of insulin I needed to give myself based on how many carbs I was going to eat. It wasn’t until that moment that I just broke down. Everyone left my room and took a walk because I needed sometime to just cry and get it all out.

There wasn’t much rest for me while I was in the ICU considering my new training and learning to check my blood sugar. My mom was kind enough to fill my room with magazines and sugar free crystal light to fill my time!  On Friday, I was finally released. I asked for one thing only after eating hospital food for 5 days… Chick-Fil-A. When we arrived I was super excited, but also really overwhelmed at the same time because now I was ‘by myself’ with no medical supervision.  I had to trust the education that I received and be confident that I could manage this chronic illness. I made it through lunch with a few tears, but felt more confident in my carb counting and giving myself insulin. It was also the first time I was out in public as a Type 1 Diabetic.

The next day my mom and dad drove me back to OBU to help me get settled and to buy me a few new snacks for my room just in case I got low. I was ready to be around my new friends again and to start learning how to manage my blood sugar as a college freshmen.

Everything wasn’t all that easy once I got back to OBU. A few people made comments like, “oh, I’m glad your okay, but at least it wasn’t cancer.” Looking back now, I know that people were just trying to encourage me, but it has made me sensitive to the words that come out of my mouth about other people. I am more careful with my words now and try to differentiate my encouragement and try to avoid comments like those that upset me.

One good thing that came out of my diagnosis was meeting Seth. A week after I was diagnosed I met Seth at Aydelotte Baptist Church where he was the acting music minister. During the first few months, I felt very alone in my diagnosis and Seth really turned out to be the person and friend that I needed at that time, which led to dating, engagement, and marriage. If only I knew then what I know now! From the beginning to present day, Seth has been a constant companion and support system that I have needed when it has come to my diabetes.

image131

This last February I have celebrated four years of being a Type 1 Diabetic. At times it is very overwhelming, but I am becoming the person God wants me to be because of my chronic illness.

Again, if you have any questions please let me know or if there is a subject you want me to write about email me or comment below!

Alex

Leave a Reply

